Breast Cancer. Genetic Counseling. A Firsthand Account

Dr. Wilson, Surgical Oncologist and Surgery Residency Program Director, delivers a fascinating presentation on her personal experience with cancer as a doctor and a patient. Dr. Wilson is joined by Nicole Thompson, Howard University Hospital Genetic counselor, to discuss genetic counseling. For slides of their presentations contact Teddy Owusu | towusu@minorityhealth.hhs.gov

More on Dr. Lori Wilson…

“I was diagnosed in June 2013 when my son was 18 months old. After I stopped breastfeeding one of my breasts did not go down, which is abnormal, so I got my mammogram. I was devastated when I got my diagnosis of breast cancer.” – Dr. Lori Wilson, Surgical Oncologist and Surgery Residency Program Director at Howard University College of Medicine.

Receiving a diagnosis of cancer can be devastating. Frightening. Traumatic. Painful. Imagine going through all of those emotions while documenting the experience. Dr. Wilson did just that in the PBS documentary Cancer: the Emperor of all Maladies.

Check out the full documentary on PBS. Dr. Wilson is featured in Episode 2

 

PPETraining2010

Leave a Reply

